Historic Districts of Long Beach


If you are on a street in Long Beach, look up and check out the street sign. What color is it?


A blue sign is what you usually see.

A white sign?


That’s means you are in one of Long Beach’s historic districts. These are neighborhoods that have been recognized as having special architectural and/or historic value for the City of Long Beach. It is the City Council that designates the historic status for neighborhoods, buildings, places, objects or landmarks.

The historic districts are houses that would not be significant on their own, but as a group they preserve the visual quality and ambiance of the past. Typically the older homes are unaltered and intact. Any changes to the exterior of the homes must go through the City’s planning department and meet strict guidelines to keep the architectural compatibility of the area. At least two-thirds of homes in an area must meet the standards of the historic district to be designated as such.

Homes in historic districts tend to hold their value and are a great investment. Often the neighbors are close, working to maintain the ambiance and feel through Community Watch groups, tree plantings, seasonal block parties. Many of the areas have smaller homes, so they are great starter homes for buyers where keeping the value will help as their families grow and they need to step up to a larger home.

There are currently 17 historic districts in Long Beach. Some of the better known ones are Rose Park, Bluff Heights, California Heights, Wrigley Area, Belmont Heights, Carroll Park.

Here is a link, from the City’s website, to a map of the historic districts of Long Beach.
Long Beach Historic Districts

Explore the city and check out the historic districts. And if you want to move into one, let me know.


California Heights Historic District

Willmore City Historic District



Rose Park Historic District